My Software Notes

Useful things I discover

“Unable to attach to process. A debugger is already attached.” (VS 2010, Classic ASP)

with 2 comments

Situation:

A fellow developer was using Visual Studio 2010 SP1 to debug a classic ASP application.  He attempted to attach to the IIS process, w3wp.exe and received the error message: “Unable to attach to process. A debugger is already attached.”

Data:

He is running Windows 7, 32 bit. (But I reproduced the error on Win7 64 bit.)

He is using IIS 7.5.

Yesterday he installed IE 10 32 bit. (Yesterday I installed IE 10 64 bit.)

We looked in Process Explorer but no debugger was running that we could see.

We tried changing the “Attach to” type in the “Attach to Process” dialog, but it had no effect.

We tried all sorts of things but nothing made any difference.

I found this forum article:  Visual Studio 2010 debugger already attached classic ASP

I tried debugging the same ASP site by attaching to the IIS process, using VS 2012 and it worked perfectly.

Solution:

Use VS 2012 or revert from IE 10 for Win7 to IE 9.

 

My fellow developer is installing VS 2012. (I don’t know why he didn’t do it already – heck, it’s worth it just for that cool Dark Theme.)

I hope that helps anyone hitting this issue.

Written by gsdwriter

March 1, 2013 at 1:36 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. With havin so much content do you ever run into
    any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • Just an FYI to anyone reading the above comment. I think it was a failed attempt at spam. Just mouse over the name of the poster and notice that the url is %url%, which seems like an obvious placeholder tag to me. I’m guessing their ‘bot failed. They have a bug in their software :)

      What do you think?

      gsdwriter

      May 4, 2013 at 1:42 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

