My Software Notes

Useful things I discover

Superstition and Software

leave a comment »

I’m not superstitious (touch wood) so I’m not afraid to release version 4.1.13 of some software today, Friday the 13th.

One of the theories as to why this day is considered unlucky involves the demise of the Knights Templar, who fell foul of the greed and jealousy of King Phillipe the Fair of France.  The King had the French Templars arrested on Friday the 13th of October 1307 and subsequently stole their lands and treasure.  With the smart usage of medieval PR techniques and a great deal of violence, the King managed to totally destroy the  Templars by 1314.

Well, I’m not a Knights Templar, so why should I be worried?

Just as an aside, I don’t know if you knew this, but Office 2007 was version 12, however Office 2010 is not going to be version 13, it will be version 14.  What happened to version 13, you ask?  Well, it got skipped.  So even in this age of technology, science and reason, the world’s leading software company is still scared of the evil number 13.

Anyway, you can read more about this interesting day here:  Friday the 13th

So, as I said, I’m not scared that … oh my god!  My build machine just exploded!

Written by gsdwriter

March 13, 2009 at 11:17 am

Posted in Humor

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

