My Software Notes

Useful things I discover

Virtual PC 2007 on Windows 7

leave a comment »

I really like Windows 7.  I installed it last weekend and it’s great. Much better than Vista with a lot of handy new UI improvements and MUCH better utilization of resources.

I hit one issue today: The wonderful, fabulous, everybody-must-have, I’m-wetting-myself-over-how-great-these-are new features called “Windows Virtual PC” and “Windows XP Mode”.  I’m sure they are just as great as the hype says they are but there is one major gotcha: “Is AMD-V or Intel VT a must-have to run Windows Virtual PC?”  Answer: YES.  So if you ain’t got hardware virtualization on your PC then forget both of these features.

My laptop does not have hardware virtualization, so I thought I’d see if  Virtual PC 2007, which I still have installed, runs on Win7 and I got warnings about network drivers and although it opened up my VMs, there was no network connectivity.  Great.  So in a moment of inspiration I uninstalled it and reinstalled it and, so far, it is working fine.

So, the good news is that Virtual PC 2007 still works – if you uninstall and reinstall.  Maybe there is a better way around the issue, but that’s what I had to do to get it to work.

My final complaint is that I have not yet found anywhere on microsoft.com that says you can run Virtual PC 2007 on Windows 7.  If any MSFT people are reading this then (hint, hint) the Windows Virtual PC FAQs would be a nice place to answer the question: “I don’t have hardware virtualization on my PC, can I still use Virtual PC 2007 on Windows 7?”

Written by gsdwriter

November 8, 2009 at 3:56 pm

Posted in Windows 7

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

