My Software Notes

Useful things I discover

Nodejs for Windows and IIS

with 2 comments

I’ve been programming a lot of JavaScript recently. I’m really enjoying it as a language. It’s spoiling me for the static languages like C#. (But only a little, after all C# 4 has plenty of dynamic features. In fact, if you use the ExpandoObject you can – to some degree – almost write C# like JavaScript).

Anyway, in expanding my JavaScript horizons I’ve started to dabble with node.js, a server-side implementation of JavaScript.  I’ve been using it mainly for the REPL so I can try out stuff to make sure I’m doing it right.

I installed node.js a month or so ago and it wasn’t too much trouble, but I had to install Cygwin and other stuff with it for it to work on Windows.  I wasn’t interested in taking the time to compile it myself, so I used what the node.js guys were good enough to supply.

I wasn’t looking forward to upgrading though, but Tomasz Janczuk came to my rescue!  He’s been working on making node.js work on not just Windows but also in IIS AND IIS Express.  All the links you need to download node.js are here: Current installation packages for node.js and iisnode for Windows.

Instructions on how to get started using it are here:

The ability to use JavaScript on both the client and the server has tremendous potential for making our lives simpler.  Imagine programming both areas using a single language.  It seems like it’s a ways in the future, but who knows in this industry?

Written by gsdwriter

September 27, 2011 at 2:32 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been meaning to try out node.js on Windows, I like what I’ve heard about it so far. It definitely seems like it has a lot of potential!

    Justin Cooney

    September 27, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    • Hey Justin,

      I think a lot of the attraction for node.js is because of the simplicity. Just go to the home page and look at how easy it is to create your own web server using just JavaScript. There’s a beauty about it that makes you want to get involved.

      gsdwriter

      October 2, 2011 at 8:51 am


Leave a Reply

