My Software Notes

Useful things I discover

MVC 4 Beta Major Gotcha

leave a comment »

After installing MVC 4 Beta, I noticed that Visual Studio 2010 Intellisense had developed a problem in Razor views in MVC 3 projects.  For example ViewBag wasn’t found and neither was Url.

I looked around for solutions and found various suggestions, but none of them worked and then (I’m not sure whether to say “Duh” or not) I found the solution in the release notes: ASP.NET MVC 4 Beta: Known Issues and BREAKING CHANGES.  (See the “Required Updates” section.)

Now I know that ideally I should have looked at the release notes before installing it.  Sure, and ideally I should never drive faster than the speed limit, but this is the real world and the ideal and the actual don’t always coincide.

I really think that the “Known Issues and Breaking Changes” section of the release notes should have their own link (in BIG CAPS) right next to the big green “Install ASP.NET MVC 4 Beta” button on the ASP.NET MVC 4 page, so that idiots like me will pay attention and maybe actually know ahead of time what might break and take the necessary steps.

For the other poor sods who don’t read release notes here are a couple of the searches I can remember I made and hopefully if you search on the same terms you may find this post.

  • MVC 4 Beta breaks Intellisense
  • MVC 3 Razor View Intellisense Not Working

PS: MVC 4 itself is good so far.

Written by gsdwriter

March 5, 2012 at 10:49 am

Leave a Reply

